Skip to Content
Get the Free SDCL Mobile App
Renew & request items, download ebooks, and more!
SanDiegoCounty.gov Home
Home
× Under the guidance of the California Department of Public Health, San Diego County Libraries will provide Walk-up Door-side
service Monday-Friday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. at all 33 branches. Visit sdcl.org/services for more information.

Bajo la dirección del Departamento de Salud Pública de California, las bibliotecas del condado de San Diego brindará el servicio sin previa cita
para recoger en la puerta de lunes a viernes de 10 a.m. a 4 p. m. en las 33 sucursales. Visite sdcl.org/services para obtener más información.

Borrowing, Renewing & Returning Library Materials

How do I apply for a library card?

Sign up online or visit your local SDCL branch.

See Get a Library Card for more information.

How many items may I check out?

Certain types of items, such as Hot.Right.Now. books and DVDs, have checkout limits but they are clearly marked.

How long may I keep library materials and how much are late fees?

Material Type Checkout Length
& Renewals
Late Fee
Per Day
Maximum Late
Fee Per Item
Adult & Young Adult Books 21 days; 50 renewals 25 cents $10.00
Children's Books 21 days; 50 renewals 10 cents $10.00
Books on CD 21 days; 20 renewals 25 cents $10.00
Movies 7 days; 20 renewals $1.00 $10.00
Music CDs & Video Games 7 days; 20 renewals 25 cents $10.00
Magazines 7 days; 50 renewals n/a n/a
Circuit & Link+ 21 days; 1 renewal $1.00 No maximum
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) 21 days; no renewals 50 cents $25.00

Always check your receipt for due dates. Renew materials online or by calling (858) 514-4765.

*Certain types of items may have different checkout periods, but they are clearly marked.

**Note: items may not be renewed if the item is "on hold" for another customer.

Borrowing privileges will be suspended if an account has fines or fees in excess of $20.

Other Fees:

Lost items or items that are damaged beyond repair: $5 processing fee (non-refundable) plus price of the item

Returned check fee: $25 per returned check

Community room usage fee: $50 for each two hour period (fee waived if proof of 501(c)3 provided)

Collection Agency Fee: $10 per referral

How may I pay a library fine or fee?

Library fines in excess of $10 may be paid online through your library account.

Fines and fees may also be paid at your local branch or by mailing a check made out to San Diego County Library to the following address:

San Diego County Library
Attn: Circulation Services
5560 Overland Avenue, Suite 110
San Diego, CA 92123

What if the item I want isn't available?

You can request items from another branch or place your name on the waiting list. If SDCL doesn't own the item, you may place a request via Circuit or Link+ if a copy is available.

How do I renew materials online?

  1. Log in to My Library Account.
  2. Click on the Checked Out Items button to view the items you currently have checked out.
  3. Select the items you would like to renew and click the Renew Selected Items button, or click the Renew All button to renew all items.

How do I renew materials over the phone?

Library materials may be renewed over the phone by calling (858) 514-4765.

Where may I return my library materials?

Items may be returned to any San Diego County Library branch. Book drops are available for after hours returns.